Desktop Schools Popup

Teaching and Learning

The Teaching and Learning Department is responsible for leadership of the district’s academic goals. The department oversees curriculum development and review; professional development related to curriculum, instruction and assessment, and implementation of state and federal programs that directly impact student learning. The department also oversees the district Assessment Center, Quality Compensation (Q Comp) program and English Learners (EL), Gifted and Talented (GT) and integration and equity programming, and collaborates with the Special Education Department in literacy and math efforts, and the Technology Department to support technology integration into the teaching and learning process.

Our work is rooted in the following principles:

  • Strong Core Collaboration
  • Guided Inquiry
  • Equity
  • Constructivist Learning
  • Formative Assessment
  • 1:1 Access to Technology
  • Growth Mindset
  • Standards-Driven
  • Data-Informed
  • Intervention/Enrichment
  • Continuous Improvement
  • Results-Oriented

Explore our district

Elementary Schools

Middle Schools

High Schools

Magnet Schools

Teaching and Learning administration

steven troen

Director of Teaching and Learning

Steven.Troen@district196.org
651-423-7700

Amy denneson

Teaching and Learning Coordinator,
HS English-language arts, HS social studies, K-12 English learners, K-12 specialists/electives, K-8 gifted-talented, Q Comp


Amy.Denneson@district196.org
651-423-7836

gretchen cary

Teaching and Learning Specialist,
6-8 Literacy and Multi-Tiered Systems of Support, Integrated Units of Study


Gretchen.Cary@district196.org
651-423-7617

Robin gordon

Integration and Equity Coordinator,
AVID, cultural family advocates


Robin.Gordon@district196.org
651-423-7914

paul olson

Teaching and Learning Coordinator,
K-12 Math, science, STEM, Magnet School Programs, Innovative Programs, Business and Community Partners


Paul.Olson@district196.org
651-423-7911

jennifer huling

Teaching and Learning Specialist,
Learning and Technology, 1:1 Learning, Schoology


Jennifer.Huling@district196.org
651-423-7915

megan pershica

Teaching and Learning Coordinator, Pre-K-12 Literacy

Megan.Pershica@district196.org
651-423-7812

michelle demers

Assessment Coordinator

Michelle.Demers@district196.org
651-423-7856

nandi rieck

State and Federal Programs Coordinator,
Grants, Title Program, Career Development, Homeless Liaison

Nandi.Rieck@district196.org
651-423-7719