Desktop Schools Popup

Food and Nutrition Services

Fueling students for academic success

The Food and Nutrition Services Department supports academic achievement by providing students with nutritious meals and exceptional customer service.

Any student who is approved for free or reduced-price school meals will receive breakfast and lunch at no charge. A new application must be submitted each year, unless you already received a letter from District 196 indicating that all of your child(ren) have been approved for the current school year.

It is the vision of the Food and Nutrition Services Department to provide the opportunity for all students to meet their daily nutritional needs for meals consumed at school. We provide healthy food choices that support the district’s wellness policy.

Contact

Spencer Fischer,
Coordinator of Food and Nutrition Services

 

651-683-6956
Spencer.Fischer@district196.org
 

Location

Food and Nutrition Services
4187 Braddock Trail
Eagan, MN 55123

Food and Nutrition Services contacts

Administration

Spencer Fischer
Coordinator
651-683-6956
Spencer.Fischer@district196.org

Beth Bergacker
Secretary to the Coordinator
651-683-6957
Beth.Bergacker@district196.org

Heidi Springmeyer, RD, MBA, SNS
Human Resources Supervisor (employment opportunities)
651-683-8558
Heidi.Springmeyer@district196.org

Susan Score
Secretary to School Meal Benefits/Accounting (free or reduced-price meal applications)
651-683-6958
Susan.Score@district196.org

Kaleen Mikulski MS, RD, SNS
Food and Nutrition Services Supervisor
651-683-8554
Kaleen.Mikulski@district196.org

Bill Nelson 
Food and Nutrition Services Feepay and Technical Support  
651-683-8555
Bill.Nelson@district196.org

Mariah Westlie MS, RD, CDM
Food and Nutrition Services Specialist
651-683-6959
Mariah.Westlie@district196.org

For questions about your student’s meal account or balance information, please contact the food and nutrition services manager at your student’s school.

Elementary School

Deerwood Elementary
Monica Mork   
651-683-6812
Monica.Mork@district196.org

Cedar Park Elementary
Deb McMenomy
952-431-8367
Deborah.McMenomy@district196.org

Diamond Path Elementary
Jacki Pettit
952-423-7669
Jacki.Pettit@district196.org

East Lake Elementary School
Rebecca Plumb
952-423-7837
Rebecca.Plumb@district196.org

Echo Park Elementary
Mindy Wychor
952-431-8366
Mindy.Wychor@district196.org

Glacier Hills Elementary
Linda Wicker
651-683-8582
Linda.Wicker@district196.org

Greenleaf Elementary
Jodi Thompson
952-431-8276
Jodi.Thompson@district196.org

Highland Elementary
Jennifer Hulberg
952-423-7650
Jennifer.Hulberg@district196.org

Northview Elementary
Gail Offermann
651-683-6833
Gail.Offermann@district196.org

Oak Ridge Elementary
Geri Doane
651-683-6975
Geri.Doane@district196.org

Parkview Elementary
Janine Petros
952-431-8345
Janine.Petros@district196.org

Pinewood Elementary
Susan Sherman
651-683-6986
Susan.Sherman@district196.org

Red Pine Elementary
Cheryl Rosa
651-423-7878
Cheryl.Rosa@district196.org

Rosemount Elementary
Shannon Morrison
651-423-7679
Shannon.Morrison@district196.org

Shannon Park Elementary
Michelle Durenberger
651-423-7678
Michelle.Durenberger@district196.org

Southview Elementary
Pattie Barahona
952-431-8311
Patricia.Barahona@district196.org

Thomas Lake Elementary
Karen Kidwell
651-683-6887
Karen.Kidwell@district196.org

Westview Elementary
Lorinda Miller
952-431-8347
Lorinda.Miller@district196.org

Woodland Elementary
Kathleen Duff
651-683-6886
Kathleen.Duff@district196.org

Middle School

Black Hawk Middle
Monica Mork   
651-683-6812
Monica.Mork@district196.org

Dakota Hills Middle
Jane Peterson
651-683-8560
Jane.Peterson@district196.org

Falcon Ridge Middle School
Micki Dahl
952-431-8774
Micki.Dahl@district196.org

Rosemount Middle School
Ellen Brockman
651-423-7647
Ellen.Brockman@district196.org

Scott Highlands Middle
Jennifer Hulberg
952-423-7650
Jennifer.Hulberg@district196.org

Valley Middle
Pattie Barahona
952-431-8311
Patricia.Barahona@district196.org

High School

Apple Valley High School
Becky Holter
952-431-8237
Becky.Holter@district196.org

Eagan High School
Jane Peterson
651-683-8560
Jane.Peterson@district196.org

Eastview High School  
Ryan Kolsrud   
952-431-8944
Ryan.Kolsrud@district196.org

Rosemount High School
Jo Baier
651-423-7538
Joanne.Baier@district196.org

School of Environmental Studies
Lisa Germond
952-431-8754
Lisa.Germond@district196.org

How school meals are planned

Breakfast and lunch menus are planned in accordance with USDA guidelines. A registered dietitian, along with a menu committee, plans each meal with regard to nutrition, food quality and availability. Menus are planned to reflect preferences of the school community and to encourage students to eat nutritious meals. Menus, recipes and products are constantly updated to follow the Dietary Guidelines for Americans by:

  • Providing one-third of the recommended daily allowance (RDA) for specific food groups, as well as one-third of calorie needs for each age or grade group for lunch, and
  • Providing one-fourth of the RDA for specific food groups, as well as one-fourth of calorie needs for each age or grade group for breakfast.

Grade groups are used to determine the proper nutrition for students. The three grade groups are K-5, 6-8 and 9-12. The major differences between the three are the number of calories, number of bread/grain servings and the amount of protein for each group. 

School meals

There is no charge for free and reduced-price breakfast and lunch. A second full breakfast or lunch for a student is the same price as an adult breakfast and lunch. Only individual meal pricing is listed for an adult breakfast and lunch (weekly, monthly and yearly pricing is not available). Milk is included with all meals, but for additional cartons of milk or if purchased separately, it is an Ala Carte charge of 40 cents each for all eligibility levels.

For questions about your student’s meal account or balance information, please contact the food and nutrition services manager at your student’s school.

Food allergies and special diets

Parents or guardians of a child with a severe food allergy or special diet needs should contact the school nurse. Parents may be asked to have their child’s licensed physician complete a Special Diet Statement and submit it to the school nurse.

The school nurse will share the Special Diet Statement with the school Food and Nutrition Services manager and the district supervisor. The school manager and the parent will meet to complete the Special Nutrition Needs form and agree on a communication plan.

For more information about food allergies and special diets, visit the Allergies page.


The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) prohibits discrimination against its customers, employees, and applicants for employment on the bases of race, color, national origin, age, disability, sex, gender identity, religion, reprisal, and where applicable, political beliefs, marital status, familial or parental status, sexual orientation, or all or part of an individual’s income is derived from any public assistance program, or protected genetic information in employment or in any program or activity conducted or funded by USDA. (Not all prohibited bases will apply to all programs and/or employment activities.) If you wish to file a Civil Rights program complaint of discrimination, complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form, found online at http://www.ascr.usda.gov/complaint_filing_cust.html, or at any USDA office, or call (866) 632-9992 to request the form. You may also write a letter containing all of the information requested in the form. Send your completed complaint form or letter to us by mail at U.S. Department of Agriculture, Director, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20250-9410, by fax (202) 690-7442 or email at program.intake@usda.gov. Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing or have speech disabilities and wish to file either an EEO or program complaint may contact USDA through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877-8339; or (800) 845-6136 (Spanish). Persons with disabilities, who wish to file a program complaint, please see information above on how to contact us by mail directly or by email. If you require alternative means of communication for program information (e.g., Braille, large print, audiotape, etc.) please contact USDA’s TARGET Center at (202) 720-2600 (voice and TDD). USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer.