Desktop Schools Popup

Finance and Operations

The Finance Department is responsible for compiling the district budget, processing payables, receivables and payroll. The department uses conservative assumptions, projections and budgeting practices to successfully manage the district’s finances. In accordance with state law, District 196 has an independent audit performed each year. Results of the annual audits are included in the annual financial report.

To ensure active community participation in and understanding of the district’s budget planning process, District 196 has a Budget Advisory Council that meets throughout the year. Find out more information about the council. 

Contact

Mark Stotts,
Director of Finance and Operations

651-423-7713
Mark.Stotts@district196.org

Call for bids - iPad Sale

Notice is hereby given that sealed bids will be received for the purchase of iPads by Independent School District 196 at the District Office located at 3455 153rd Street West, Rosemount, MN 55068 until 10:00 am Central Standard Time (CST) on December 18th, 2019, at which time and place, bids will be publicly opened and read aloud.

Complete instructions are in the bid specifications below.

A 120 day Bid Bond, Certified Check or Cashiers Check in the amount of 5% of the total bid price, made payable to Independent School District 196, must be submitted with the bid.

Sachin Isaacs, Board Clerk
Independent School District 196

For questions contact Carol Hauschild 651-683-6952.

View full iPad sale bid specifications

Addendum 1

Awards and honors

For the 16th year in a row, District 196 earned the Certificate of Excellence in Financial Reporting for the Association of School Business Officials International (ASBO).

ASBO has awarded District 196 its Meritorious Budget Award for excellence in budget presentation during the 2018-19 budget year.

Budget process and timelines

The complete budget cycle can be viewed as a continuous five-step process shown below. Each of these steps requires board approval and is open for public inspection and comments. The process used by the school district is mandated by state law.

Property Tax Levy

The process begins with submission of estimated property tax levy information to the Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) by mid-July. The MDE sets the maximum levy amount for each school district based on current legislation and formulas. This property tax levy information is reviewed, updated and certified by the Board of Education prior to the end of the calendar year. The collection of the property tax levy occurs during the calendar year and is intended to be utilized during the upcoming school year. For example, a tax levy for a coming year that is certified in December is collected in May and October of the following year and would be used for that coming school year.

Preliminary Budget

During the middle of each school year, the district moves to the second step in the process and begins development of the preliminary budget for the next school year. This process includes the completion of long-range enrollment projections, updating the five-year budget forecast, development of staffing guidelines and determination of revenue and expenditure assumptions to be included in the budget. This process also includes development of the capital expenditure budget for the next school year during the spring of the current fiscal year. The School Board must approve a budget by the beginning of the fiscal year (July 1) in which it will be used. This provides the district with spending authority as the initial estimates are revised and the actual enrollment is determined.

Final Budget

The third step in the budgeting process happens during the fall each year. The finance department updates the preliminary budget with revised estimates and staffing allocations, and develops the final budget. The revisions are based on any changes in laws that affect education finance and are based on the actual enrollment on October 1 of the current year.

Budget Adjustments

The fourth step in the process is a spring budget adjustment based on revised information; spring adjustments are primarily focused on federal and grant programs. Because of federal program requirements, the district makes these adjustments to ensure that the revised budget is closely aligned with actual expenditures for the year. This adjustment allows for accurate funding for programs and provides the most accurate basis for developing the preliminary budget for the next fiscal year.

Annual Financial Report and Audit

The fifth and final step in the process is closing the books and preparing the financial statements. This occurs during late summer each year. During this period, the district undergoes an independent audit as required by state law. The auditors render an opinion on the district’s financial statements and accounting practices. The School Board typically reviews the audited financial report in late October.

District 196 financials

2019-20

Financial Reports

  • Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (Fiscal year ending June 30, 2020)
  • Extracurricular Audit Reports
  • Special Purpose Audit Reports

Budget

Property Tax Levy

  • 2019 Payable 2020 Property Tax Levy
  • Levy Certification Presentation

2018-19

Financial Reports

  • Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (Fiscal year ending June 30, 2019)
  • Extracurricular Audit Reports
  • Special Purpose Audit Reports

Budget

Property Tax Levy

2017-18

2016-17

2015-16

2014-15

2013-14

2012-13

2011-12

2010-11

Administration

Mark Stotts
Director of Finance and Operations
Mark.Stotts@district196.org
651-423-7713

Stephanie Rudie
Administrative Assistant to the Director
Stephanie.Rudie@district196.org
651-423-7715

Jolene Kroschel-Salmonson
Project Manager Software Conversion
Jolene.Kroschel-Salmonson@district196.org
651-423-7752

Finance and Operations Fax: 651-423-7787/7788

Student Information

Kim Reis
Student Information Supervisor
Kim.Reis@district196.org
651-423-7644

Nancy Massey
Student Information Secretary
Nancy.Massey@district196.org
651-423-7641

Linda Reith
Student Information Secretary
Linda.Reith@district196.org
651-423-7640

Carol Zenner
Archivist
Carol.Zenner@district196.org
651-423-7790

Transcript Release Information Line
651-423-7710

Payroll

Joyce Peterson
Payroll Supervisor
Joyce.Peterson@district196.org
651-423-7750

Maxine Scott
Supervisor of Payroll Information Systems
Maxine.Scott@district196.org
651-423-7754

Cindy Stiles
Payroll Specialist
Cindy.Stiles@district196.org
651-423-7764

Brent Golobich
Payroll (Custdians/Bldg. chiefs/Vehicle tech/Food serv./Workers comp)
Brent.Golobich@district196.org
651-423-7766

Francisca Blackman
Payroll (Admin/Clerical/Special staff/Students)
Francisca.Blackman@district196.org
651-423-7763

Jenna Vernon
Payroll (Teachers/Nurses)
Jenna.Vernon@district196.org

Chris Sundry
Payroll (Bus drivers/Chaperones)
Christina.Sundry@district196.org
651-423-7767

Finance

Christopher Onyango-Robshaw
Coordinator of Finance
Christopher.Onyango-Robshaw@district196.org
651-423-7748

Lisa Ziemer
Controller
Lisa.Ziemer@district196.org
651-423-7717

Sheila Rustad
Accounting Specialist (Accounting)
Sheila.Rustad@district196.org
651-423-7765

Danny DuChene
Manager of Financial Systems/Reporting/Compliance
Daniel.DuChene@district196.org
651-423-7780

Sarah Bent
Accounting Specialist (Financial Systems)
Sarah.Bent@district196.org
651-423-7707

Jack Baker
Accounting/Payroll Analyst
Jack.Baker@district196.org
651-423-7649

Accounts Payable

Desiree Fleming
Accounts Payable Supervisor
Desiree.Fleming@district196.org
651-423-7783

Debra McCoy
Accounts Payable Associate (A-K)
Debra.Mccoy@district196.org
651-423-7743

Melanie Rogne
Accounts Payable Audit Analyst
Melanie.Rogne@district196.org
651-423-756

Michelle Grossman
Accounts Payable Associate (L-Z)
Michelle.Grossman@district196.org
651-423-7751

Pam Melby
Accounts Payable Analyst
Pam.Melby@district196.org
651-423-7753

Kimberly Wachter
Accounts Payable Associate
Kimberly.Wachter@district196.org
​​​​​​​651-423-7757