Desktop Schools Popup

Select a School

Equity Advisory Council

The District 196 School Board approved the inaugural members of the district’s new Equity Advisory Council (EAC) at its Sept. 28 regular meeting.

Superintendent Mary Kreger announced creation of the EAC during a July board meeting where she detailed the district’s heightened focus on equity and efforts to end systemic racism. In June, the School Board approved a resolution denouncing the killing of George Floyd and reinforcing the district’s commitment to diversity, equity, inclusion and justice. The resolution directs Kreger to develop recommendations to address racial inequalities in District 196 schools.


The EAC is comprised of parents, community members, high school students, district administrators, principals, teachers and other staff. There are 25 appointed positions and seven ex-officio members. The committee assigned members to one- or two-year terms this first time only. All future appointments to the EAC will be two-year terms, beginning July 1, with approximately half the positions up each year.

The EAC has authority to make recommendations to the Superintendent’s Cabinet on potential changes needed to ensure equitable practices and systems, and to eliminate the predictability of student achievement based upon race, gender, special education status or eligibility for free and reduced-price school meals. The council’s role is to participate in analysis of data related to student achievement, attendance and discipline; the review of programs and services; community outreach to address the needs of underrepresented families, and to offer multiple perspectives and voice on matters of student equity and inclusion.


  • Leigh Collier (parent)
  • Shaun Pannu (parent)
  • Scott Tryggeseth (parent)
  • Pha Chia Moua (at-large community member)
  • Luis Fernando Salguero (at-large community member)
  • Kira Adenwala (high school student)
  • Jacob Dereje (high school student)
  • Grantham Green (high school student)
  • Emma Huppert (high school student)
  • Lee Mbiyu (high school student)
  • Sahasra Molleti (high school student)
  • Calvin Keasling (assistant principal)
  • Cathy Kindem (principal)
  • Becky Melville (principal)
  • Michael Gillis (teacher)
  • Tian Grace (teacher)
  • Kathryn Haave (teacher)
  • Lauren Nelson (teacher)
  • Julie Wavrunek (teacher)
  • Carol Wekesser (teacher)
  • Alyssa Bartosh (assistant administrator)
  • Carita Green (assistant administrator)
  • Veronica Ramos (cultural family advocate)
  • Jorja Valandra (cultural family advocate)
  • Kate Schmidt (Dakota County United Educators President)

Ex-officio members of the EAC are School Board Members Sachin Isaacs, Cory Johnson and Jackie Magnuson; Superintendent Mary Kreger; Director of Equity and Inclusion Virgil Jones; Director of Elementary Education Sally Soliday, and Director of Secondary Education Michael Bolsoni.


Caley Longendyke, executive assistant to the superintendent and School Board


The EAC meets six times a year on Thursdays, as determined by the council.

Time: 6 p.m.
Location: Until further notice, all EAC meetings will be held virtually via videoconference
Dates: Meetings scheduled for the 2020-21 school year are TBD.