Desktop Schools Popup

Select a School

School District Election 2021

The School Board is responsible for the conduct of all district elections. Voting information and records, including campaign finance reports and information about past elections, are included below.

School Board Election 2021

The 2021 School Board election will take place Tuesday, Nov. 2. Three of the seven at-large positions on the School Board of Independent School District 196 are up for election. The terms of Craig Angrimson, Art Coulson and Mike Roseen expire Jan. 3, 2022. The term of each open position is four years, from January 2022 to January 2026.

The School Board is responsible for developing policy to ensure the proper care, management and control of district affairs, and supporting the district’s mission of “Educating our students to reach their full potential.”

Who is running?

Sixteen candidates are seeking election to three open seats on the District 196 School Board in the November 2 election. The 16 candidates are (in alpha order): Kyle Anderson of Rosemount, Craig Angrimson of Apple Valley, Loren Jay Balazs of Apple Valley, Kim Bauer of Apple Valley, Art Coulson of Apple Valley, Rebecca Gierok of Apple Valley, Kayla Hauser of Rosemount, Curtis Henry of Rosemount, Derek J. Kottke of Eagan, Teresa A. Maki of Rosemount, Sakawdin Mohamed of Eagan, Jacob Mark Rylander of Rosemount, John Schaefer of Rosemount, Jessica Turner of Eagan, Bianca Virnig of Eagan, and Kaia Zeigler of Inver Grove Heights. 

A sign outside of a precinct that says Vote Here.

Voting Begins September 17

Voters can cast their ballot on Election Day at their designated school district polling place, by absentee ballot beginning Sept. 17, or through early in-person voting during the week before Election Day. More about voting can be found on our Voting Information page.

Absentee Voting

Absentee voting begins Sept. 17. Voters do not need a reason to vote by absentee ballot. Absentee ballots can be completed by mail or in person at the District Office in Rosemount, 3455 153rd St. W., or at one of the Dakota County government centers located in Apple Valley, Hastings and West St. Paul.

To absentee vote by mail, voters may download an application from the district website at and mail the completed application as directed in the application materials. Once an application is received and processed, an absentee ballot will be mailed to the voter along with instructions for completing and returning their ballot in the postage-paid envelope that is provided with the ballot. If the person applying for an absentee ballot is not registered to vote, a voter registration application will be mailed with the absentee ballot and the completed voter registration application should be returned along with the ballot. Voter registration can also be completed online at

Early In-Person Voting

Early in-person voting will be offered Tuesday, Oct. 26 through Monday, Nov. 1, each business day during regular office hours at the District Office in Rosemount (7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., with extended hours of 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Nov. 1), as well as at the Dakota County Administration Center in Hastings, 1590 Highway 55 (8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., with extended hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Nov. 1). Wait times may vary during early in-person voting.

League of Women Voters Hosting Virtual Candidate Forum September 29

The League of Women Voters of Dakota County will host a virtual forum for candidates seeking election to the District 196 School Board. The forum will be recorded September 29, from 7-8:30 p.m. The recording of the forum can be viewed on the District 196 YouTube channel and District 196 Cable TV.

Sixteen candidates are seeking election to the District 196 school board for three open seats on the School Board. Questions for the candidates will be accepted through September 22 via email to Please identify District 196 when you submit your question.

The forum can be watched after the recording on local channels, Eagan TV Facebook, Eagan TV YouTube, Roku app-Community channel (search for Eagan Television, Spectrum channel 180, Frontier’s Vantage channel 191 or 192, or Apple Valley’s and Rosemount’s YouTube pages, and Town Square Television Comcast Xfinity 15/HD859.

Campaign Finance Reports

A line of voting booths at a polling place.