Desktop Schools Popup

Select a School

Magnuson elected District 196 School Board chair for 15th time

Jackie Magnuson was reelected chairperson of the District 196 School Board for 2022 at the board’s annual organization meeting Jan. 10. This will be Magnuson’s 15th year as chairperson during her 32 years on the board. She was first elected in 1989 and previously served as chairperson from 1994 through 1996, 2000 and 2001, 2010 through 2012, and 2016 to present.

Also elected to officer positions this year are Cory Johnson, vice chairperson, Sachin Isaacs, clerk and Art Coulson, treasurer.

Newly elected board members Coulson, Sakawdin Mohamed and Bianca Virnig took the oath of office as part of the organization meeting. All three were elected Nov. 2. Coulson was reelected to a fourth term on the board and Mohamed and Virnig are starting their first term.