Welcome to Kindergarten!

Teachers
Ashley Vogel
Ashley.Vogel@district196.org
651-683-6969 ext. 92709

Katie Siekmeier
Katie.Siekmeier@district196.org
651-683-6969 ext. 93669

Nancy Snodgrass
Nancy.Snodgrass@district196.org
651-683-6969 ext. 92704

Lisa Miller-Johnson
Lisa.Miller-Johnson@district196.org
651-683-6969 ext. 92734

Jayne Walrath (AM)
Jayne.Walrath@district196.org
651-683-6969 ext. 92787

Ann Anfinsen
Ann.Anfinsen@district196.org
651-683-6969 ext. 92127

For general Oak Ridge information call (651) 683-6970.

ABC Movie

CURRICULUM
For complete curriculum information, click HERE

Language Arts:
Have some fun in the coming months! Special family times can be reading times. Let children see you enjoy reading. Books are good, but don't forget:
# newspapers
# comics
# advertisements
# mail
# recipes
# magazines
# menus
# labels
# cereal boxes
# signs

We are using Lucy Calkin's Writing Workshop this year. Remember to praise your little writers rather than spelling for them. Along with the reading, remember the writing. Add some pizazz to your handiwork by using a variety of tools such as markers, paint, shaving cream, sidewalk chalk and pudding. If you can read it, you can write it!
# notes (I love you!, thank you, reminders)
# grocery lists
# chores
# invitations
# letters
# label your toy boxes
# write your name!!

Our writing center is open for business! The kindergarten writers have been busily creating masterpieces. Be on the look-out for class books and individual books to be shared at home.

Parent/Child Learning Activities:
1. Say your phone number and address.
2. Count the doors in your home.
3. Find 10 red things in your house.
4. Play some music and dance together.
5. Learn some nursery rhymes.
6. Go for a walk together. What do you see?
7. Fold the laundry together.
8. Read a book together. Talk about it.
9. Find a picture in a book. Make up a story about it.
10. Practice hopping, skipping, jumping and galloping.
11. Have an at-home fire drill.
12. Find some circles, squares, rectangles and triangles in your house.
13. Get a free library card at any Dakota County Library and get involved.

 

© Independent School District 196 • Oak Ridge Elementary • 4350 Johnny Cake Ridge Road, Eagan, MN 55122 • (651) 683-6970
Copyright Notice | Privacy Statement | EOE Statement
Main Footer