Eastview High School students at state speech tournament

Minnesota State High School League state speech tournament logoROSEMOUNT, Minn. – District 196 students won seven of 13 state championships and 33 of the 104 total medals awarded at this year’s Class AA state speech tournament held April 13 at Wayzata High School.

Medals are awarded at the state tournament for places one through eight in the final round of each of the 13 categories of competition. Students from Eastview High School (pictured) finished with 13 medals, Apple Valley High School students won 11 medals and Eagan High School students brought home nine medals, including four state titles. In the team sweepstakes, Eastview finished runner-up to Moorhead High School and Apple Valley and Eagan tied for third place among all Class AA schools with students participating in the tournament.

Halima Badri of Apple Valley successfully defended her state title in original oratory. The other state champions from District 196  are Jordan Adams and Joey Mayer of Eastview in duo interpretation, Isabelle Hopewell of Eagan in extemporaneous reading, Jason Scheller of Eagan in extemporaneous speaking, Claire Nelson of Eagan in humorous interpretation, Yeno Hakim of Eastview in serious interpretation of poetry and Trinh Nguyen of Eagan in serious interpretation of prose.

State runners-up included Abigail Brachio of Apple Valley in extemporaneous speaking, Audrey Parker of Eagan in humorous interpretation, Jake Lieder of Eastview in serious interpretation of drama and Uzo Ngwu of Apple Valley in serious interpretation of poetry.

Third-place medals were awarded to Campbell Bernstein of Eastview in humorous interpretation, Ceceilia Voss of Apple Valley in informative speaking, Divya Mouli of Eagan in original oratory, Kyrylo Pernatiy of Apple Valley in serious interpretation of drama, Jordan Arntz of Eastview in serious interpretation of prose and Dominic Tovsen of Eastview in storytelling.

District 196 students who medaled in places four through eight are as follows:

  • 4th Place – Three medals: Eastview’s Esha Rao in extemporaneous reading, and Apple Valley’s Maria Michaelson in great speeches and Dominique Paulk in storytelling.
  •   5th Place – Four medals: Apple Valley’s Jonah Johnson and Jessica Connors in duo interpretation, Eastview’s Charlotte Krekeler in humorous interpretation, and Eagan’s Julia Sexton in informative speaking and Sanjana Krishnamurthy in original oratory.
  • 6th Place – Four medals: Eastview’s Thor Reimann in creative expression and Mai Matsuhashi in original oratory, and Apple Valley’s Frank Knier in humorous interpretation and Laurel Carter in serious interpretation of drama.
  • 7th Place – Two medals: Eastview’s Mimi Le in creative expression, and Eagan’s Nathan LoPresto and Chayla Velander in duo interpretation.
  • 8th Place – Three medals: Eastview’s Grace Jesch in discussion and Ella Erdahl in storytelling, Apple Valley’s Semaj Lee in serious interpretation of prose.

Nine District 196 students were named 2019 All-State Speech by the Minnesota State Speech Coaches Association. They are Badri, Paulk and Ngwu of Apple Valley; Scheller, Sexton, Hopewell and Nelson of Eagan, and Lieder and Mayer of Eastview. To qualify for All-State Speech, students must be a senior in high school; be engaged in community activities; have achieved excellence in competition, including at least two appearances at the state speech tournament, and utilize their speech skills in at least three other activities, such as National Honor Society, drama and athletics.

A total of 52 District 196 students qualified to compete at this year’s state tournament and two-thirds of them advanced to the final round in their category to earn medals.

Including this year’s results, Apple Valley remains in first place with 89 state champions and 410 total medals won in the history of the state speech tournament. Eagan remains second with 67 state champions and 319 total medals won.

The head coaches for speech in District 196 are Luke Ostrander at Apple Valley, Joni Anker at Eagan, Ryan Roseen at Eastview and Carol Sylvester at Rosemount.

You may also like

Apple Valley High School graduate Mark Dahlen poses in the studio behind a large sound board.
Pursuing Infinite Possibilities: Mark Dahlen, Class of 1997
Image of a tablet, phone and computer with the new website in the background.
New districtwide website redesign promotes consistency and compliance
District196 logo
Twelve candidates seek four open seats on School Board