Electric Cooperative Youth Tour logo

Four District 196 students will head to Washington D.C. this summer to learn more about the energy technology field during the National Rural Electric Association’s (NRECA) annual Youth Tour, scheduled for June 15-20.

Dakota Electric Association in Farmington selected Sanjana Molleti and Sarah Zipf of Eastview High School, and Nils Peterson and Emma Veldhuis of Eagan High School to attend the conference. Eastview student Darby O’Neil was chosen as an alternate. Davin Blix of Burnsville High School was also chosen to attend.

Each year, local electric cooperatives select high school students who have applied from around the country to attend the NRECA Youth Tour, during which they learn more about government and electric cooperatives and the roles electric cooperatives play in their communities.

“Dakota Electric is proud to sponsor local students to attend an event like the Washington, D.C. Youth Tour,” said President and CEO Greg Miller. “At this Youth Tour, some of the nation’s brightest students gather together to have fun and learn about our government.”

You may also like

Apple Valley High School students post during the spring 2019 signing ceremony.
Fourteen District 196 seniors participate in spring athletic and academic signings
Eastview High School students posing with their awards from the Crystal Pillar ceremony.
District 196 high school students win 12 of 24 video production awards
Eastview High School students at state speech tournament
District 196 students win seven of 13 state speech titles and 33 total medals