National Merit Scholarship Program logo

ROSEMOUNT, Minn. – All seven District 196 seniors who were selected semifinalists in the 2018-19 National Merit Scholarship Program last fall have been named finalists and are eligible for the approximately 7,500 merit scholarships totaling more than $31 million that will be awarded this spring.

The National Merit finalists from District 196 are Brady LaBahn of Apple Valley High School; Elisabeth Duffy, Kevin Huang and Emily Hull of Eagan High School; John Kotrba of Eastview High School, and Olivia Alberts and Michelle Quan of Rosemount High School.

Post-secondary scholarships are awarded by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, businesses and colleges and universities nationwide.

Students are selected for the National Merit and Achievement programs each fall based on their scores on the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which they take as juniors. Approximately 1.6 million students at 22,000 U.S. high schools took the qualifying test last school year. Students who score in the top 1 percent of students nationwide are selected as semifinalists and can then submit additional information to be considered as a finalist. Students who score in the top 5 percent of students nationally are named commended students; 47 District 196 students earned commended status last fall.

You may also like

Jose Martinez and his Spanish for Heritage Students pose for a photo.
New Spanish class empowers District 196 heritage learners to use their voices
Participants at American Legion Post 594 renaming ceremony
American Legion Post 594 renamed to honor Eagan High graduate killed in action
Many Voices logo that says "Together" in multiple languages.
‘One District, Many Voices’ returns to highlight multiculturalism in District 196 schools