Shaza Hussein portrait.

Rosemount High School senior Shaza Hussein is one of two students selected to represent Minnesota at the 57th annual United States Senate Youth Program Washington Week March 2-9 in Washington D.C.

Shaza will join Minnesota Senators Amy Klobuchar and Tina Smith, along with Rochester Mayo High School senior Yuxuan Geng, in an immersive week of studying the federal government and those who govern. As part of her selection, Shaza will also receive a $10,000 scholarship for undergraduate study.

“Shaza is an extraordinary student who exhibits Rosemount High School’s core beliefs in everything she does,” said Principal Pete Roback “We are proud and truly amazed in how she represents our learning community.”

The Senate Youth Program was established in 1962 as a way to increase young Americans’ understanding of the three branches of government and learn the importance of being an active part of the democratic process. The selection process was competitive and rigorous, with two students from each state being chosen.

Shaza has an impressive academic and cocurricular resume, including National Honor Society president, a leadership role on the Youth Environmental Activists of Minnesota and co-founder of the “Sell Art, Not Humans” event that raises money to help victims of sex trafficking. She has been accepted to Stanford University and plans to study for a career in environmental sustainability.

“There are some students who teach you more than you teach them. Shaza is one of those students,” said Rosemount Assistant Principal Kim Budde. “She is a bright young woman with a heart and motivation for the purpose of the greater good. Shaza will make this world a better place.”

You may also like

Apple Valley High School graduate Mark Dahlen poses in the studio behind a large sound board.
Pursuing Infinite Possibilities: Mark Dahlen, Class of 1997
Image of a tablet, phone and computer with the new website in the background.
New districtwide website redesign promotes consistency and compliance
District196 logo
Twelve candidates seek four open seats on School Board