Cast and crew of Eagan High School one-act play, "She Kills Monsters"

ROSEMOUNT, Minn. – The cast and crew of Eagan High School’s one-act play, “She Kills Monsters” (pictured) earned a starred-performance rating at this year’s state One-Act Play Festival held Feb. 8 at O’Shaughnessy Auditorium in St. Paul. Apple Valley High School was also among the eight state qualifiers in Class AA, but not among the three to earn a starred rating.

For Eagan, it was the school’s record 21st appearance at the state festival and 19th starred rating. Apple Valley made its 12th trip to the state festival and third in the last five years.

The starred rating is the highest award given to a one-act play and, as such, is the equivalent of a state championship. One-act does not involve direct competition. Judges rate the plays according to specific criteria, including pace, blocking, costuming and projection of the play’s meaning. Each production is limited to 10 minutes of stage preparation and 35 minutes of actual performance. The judges consult after each production and then openly critique each in front of the cast, crew and audience. Starred-performance ratings are determined by private balloting of the judges.

Eagan’s performance of “She Kills Monsters” by Qui Nguyen was directed by Nancy Owzarek and Jackson Cobb was the technical director. Members of the cast are Isabelle Hopewell, Mara Currens, Neha Nayak, Graham Scott, Kai Wilson, Audrey Schwartz, Matt Anderson, Joey Galles, Evelyn Gore, Tessa Krog, Fiona Gray, Lillith Allan and Steve Xiaaj. The stage manager is Mary Dratz and members of the crew are Ava Lundquist, Jorge Mogollon, Addie Stern, Ella Janky and Tori Westenberg.

Apple Valley’s performance of “The Burn” by Phillip Dawkins was directed by Josh Campbell and Sophie Peyton, and technical directors were Roger Skophammer and Bryan Kuzma. Members of the cast are Gabriel Peña, Taylor Gibson, Maya Ricard, Amanda Jackson and Daniel Koeller. The stage manager is Emma Barnum and members of the crew are Alexander Turnquist, Braden Kowalski, Sofia Perez, Brandon Halverson, Hermann Edward Kauls, Erin Sole, Jacob Hartman, Cassandra Main, Ashley Koeller, Alek Thomas and Dillon Kuzma.

You may also like

District 196 logo
Survey will measure public support for a levy referendum   
District 196 logo
District 196 graduation rate is 90.5 percent compared to 83.2 percent statewide
Apple Valley High School students post during the spring 2019 signing ceremony.
Fourteen District 196 seniors participate in spring athletic and academic signings