Portrait of Christine Gorman

ROSEMOUNT, Minn. – District 196 Superintendent Mary M. Kreger announced the hiring of Christine Swanson-Gorman as a special education coordinator working with the district’s 19 elementary schools.

Swanson-Gorman has worked in education for 18 years. She spent the first decade of her career as a special education teacher in Hudson, Wis. Most recently, she was the early childhood coordinator for Faribault Public Schools, where she helped develop and implement programming for early childhood family education, preschool readiness, screening and early childhood special education. Swanson-Gorman was also instrumental in implementing an inclusion program focused on providing equitable access to educational experiences for special education students.

Throughout her career, Swanson-Gorman has been committed to helping students reach their highest potential. While working for Hudson Schools, she served multiple roles simultaneously. As a supervisor at Willow River Elementary, she oversaw educational assistants and trained staff on behavioral interventions, classroom procedures and academic modifications and accommodations. At the same time, she was an emotional-behavioral disorder (EBD) facilitator and was in charge of the district’s EBD team meetings. Swanson-Gorman also worked as a school partner for the district’s family services and helped provide additional support for students in need.

“I am thrilled for this new opportunity to work in District 196,” she said. “I am looking forward to joining a team that works together to help students succeed.”

Swanson-Gorman has a bachelor’s degree in elementary education from University of Wisconsin, River Falls, and a master of education degree in special education from Bethel College. She earned her principal and director of special education licensure from Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota.

You may also like

District196 logo
School District 196 makes Forbes list of Best Employers in Minnesota
An Eastview senior smiles and looks on as her graduation ceremony takes place.
District 196 Class of 2019 reflects on high school journey
Boy receiving a vaccination
Dakota County recognizes district for record of immunizations