The Eastview girls' basketball team poses for a photo after being named Girls' Team of the Year.

The Star Tribune held its annual All-Metro Sports Awards ceremony at Target Field on Tuesday, June 27, and District 196 was well represented. From coach, team and players of the year to individual awards, student athletes from Eastview, Apple Valley and Eagan high schools were recognized for their outstanding achievements during the 2017-18 school year.

Some awards were announced earlier in the school year, but all were celebrated during the awards ceremony. The recipients and respective awards are:

  • Team of the Year: Eastview girls’ basketball team
  • Girls’ Coach of the Year: Eastview girls’ basketball coach Molly Kasper
  • Male Player of the Year: Apple Valley wrestler Gable Steveson
  • Volleyball Player of the Year: McKenna Melville, Eagan
  • Boys’ Alpine Skier of the Year: Camden Palmquist, Eagan
  • Boys’ Basketball Player of the Year: Tre Jones, Apple Valley
  • Wrestler of the Year: Gable Steveson, Apple Valley
  • Girls’ Lacrosse Player of the Year: Reagan Roelofs, Apple Valley
  • Girls’ Track and Field Athlete of the Year: Natalie Windels, Eagan
  • Dance Team of the Year: Eastview High School (inaugural award)

For a complete list of award recipients and photos, visit the Star Tribune’s website.

You may also like

Minnesota Timberwolves point guard and District 196 alum Tyus Jones talks with students in a computer lab.
Timberwolves’ Tyus Jones returns to Westview to surprise students with renovated tech lab
National Merit Scholarship Program logo
District 196 seniors recognized by National Merit Scholarship Program
Attendance Matters logo.
Attendance Matters: New District 196 initiative aims to keep students in class