Eastview High School speech team.

ROSEMOUNT, Minn. – Twenty-seven District 196 high school students have qualified to compete at the National Speech and Debate Association tournament June 17-22 in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. Students earned spots for the national tournament based on their performance at separate qualifying events that were held this winter and spring.

Eagan High School has 14 students who earned 12 qualifying spots: Divya Mouli and Tram Nguyen in original oratory; Emily Albert-Stauning in dramatic interpretation; Elsie Goren in informative speaking; Charushila Ramesh in oral interpretation; Claire Nelson in humorous interpretation; Jason Scheller in U.S. extemporaneous speaking; Nautica Flowers, Grant Davis and Emma Zellmer in congressional debate, and the teams of Aaron Lutz and Greg Quick and John Krueger and Frederic Shih in policy debate.

Apple Valley High School has 10 students who earned eight qualifying spots: Halima Badri in original oratory; Trinity Ek in informative speaking; Abigail Brachio and Julianna Scovil in U.S. extemporaneous speaking; the teams of Zach Frye and Liza Rotty and Reese Johnson and Zach Mundt in duo interpretation, and Kenan Anderson and Hanna Clark in Lincoln-Douglas debate.

Eastview High School has three students who earned three qualifying spots: Ross Abram in international extemporaneous speaking, Campbell Bernstein in humorous interpretation and Jake Lieder in dramatic interpretation. Members of the Eastview speech team are pictured above after finishing in third place in the team sweepstakes of the state speech tournament in April.

At the 2017 national tournament, Apple Valley and Eagan were recognized as two of 10 Schools of Outstanding Distinction for the third year in a row based on the number of rounds of competition completed by their students during the tournament. Individually, two District 196 students advanced to the final round (top six) in their categories of competition, eight were semifinalists (top 14) and five were quarterfinalists (top 30).

You may also like

Eagan High students Ayush Patel and Jason Scheller won the state championship in public forum debate at last week's state debate tournament.
Two Eagan seniors are champions and 10 other District 196 students advance to elimination rounds of state debate tournament
A preschooler plays with a math toy during class.
District 196 Connections Preschool now taking applications for 2019-20
Minnesota State High School League logo
Twenty-two District 196 students qualify for state debate tournament