Rosemount High School seniors take the oath of enlistment for the military.

District 196 has a long history of honoring graduating seniors who are entering the military upon graduation, and high schools across the district have begun their celebrations. All four, four-year high school have similar ceremonies, during which seniors talk about their assignments and share why they are entering the military.

Eleven Rosemount High School seniors took a ceremonial Oath of Enlistment Thursday, May 17 during the school’s annual military recognition ceremony. Surrounded by family, friends, District 196 administration and several military recruiters, students acknowledged their plans to enter the military upon graduation in June. Principal John Wollersheim said the emotional ceremony has a strong tradition in the school.

“This very special group of students have decided to answer the call to serve their nation,” he said. “These students are committed to post-high school training through a variety of options provided through their service in the military. We offer them our deepest and sincerest congratulations, our best wishes for success and our heartfelt thanks for choosing to serve our country.”

Chayse Gibbons, Fostyn Neubauer and Isaiah Simonson-Clarke; entering the Air Force Academy is Sydney Hansen; entering the Army National Guard are Daria Tahmooressi, Gerald Reuter III, Cole Luedtke and Rhett Lovejoy; entering the Army Reserves is Marcus Knight; entering the Navy is Gabriel Anderson, and entering the U.S. Navy ROTC-Embry Riddle Aeronautical University is Wyatt Ebner.

On May 19, Apple Valley High School held its ceremony to honor the 11 seniors entering the military. Seniors from Apple Valley include: Jacquan Beamon, Samantha Dubois, Joshua Edman; Jonathan Erickson; Spencer France, United States National Guard ROTC Scholarship to Texas A & M; Josue Garibay; Riley Hansen, United States Air Force Academy; Elijah Mortensen; Reagan Roelofs, United States Air Force Academy; Sahid Samano, and Anna Torres.

Eastview High School held its enlistment ceremony on Wednesday, May 23, and honored 19 seniors who are entering the military upon graduation.Enlistees recognized were: Nathan Berger, Army National Guard; Justin Deinhammer, Army; Logan Estep, Marines; Dylan Folger, Navy; Samuel Hagen, Army National Guard; Spencer Hagebock, Marines; Tyler Hendrickson, Army; Brandon Hudgens, Navy; Aiden Lau, Army National Guard;  Jake Lindell, Marines; Karl Ritschel, Navy; Eric Schmidt, ROTC –  University of St. Thomas; Ben Schoonover, Army; Maxim Shpilsher, Marines; Nathan Souphannavong, Army National Guard; Julia Speegle, Army National Guard; Joey Stillings, U.S. Military Academy-West Point; Dylan Van Reeuwijk, Navy, and William Weierke, Navy.

Eagan High School held its enlistment ceremony on Thursday, May 24, during which they recognized 12 seniors: Isaac Colon, Army National Guard; Samuel Gilbertson, Army; Tyler Glidden, Army National Guard; Tyler Haglind, Marines; Matthew Keo, Army National Guard; Dane Kubarek, Army; Noah Koch, Navy; Amanda Linn, Navy; Jose Mejia, Army National Guard; Jordan Nguyen, Marines; Jadon Shields, Army National Guard, and Vananh Vo, Air Force.

View pictures below of the ceremony at Rosemount High School.
Rosemount HS Military Ceremony

You may also like

Eagan High students Ayush Patel and Jason Scheller won the state championship in public forum debate at last week's state debate tournament.
Two Eagan seniors are champions and 10 other District 196 students advance to elimination rounds of state debate tournament
A preschooler plays with a math toy during class.
District 196 Connections Preschool now taking applications for 2019-20
Minnesota State High School League logo
Twenty-two District 196 students qualify for state debate tournament