Eagan Principal Polly Reikowski accepts an award at the school board meeting.

The District 196 School Board reserves the first part of its regular meetings to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of its staff and students. During the May 14 meeting, a number of people were honored.

The board recognized Class AA state speech champions, Apple Valley High School’s Halima Badri, original oratory, and Trinity Ek, informative speaking; Eastview High School’s Campbell Bernstein, creative expression, and Eagan High School’s Aaron Lutz, extemporaneous speaking.

Eagan High School Principal Polly Reikowski was presented with the Above and Beyond Award from the Department of Defense program Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve. The award recognizes employers at a local level who are dedicated to supporting their employers who are in the National Guard or Army Reserve.  AP European history teacher Brian Poehler, who also stood with Reikowski, has been in the Navy for three decades.

The Eagan High School food and nutrition service team was also recognized with two prestigious honors from the Minnesota School Nutrition Association (MSNA), which include an “E” Team Award for their dedication to excellence in their kitchen, and an individual award for Kathryn Hanson, who is the 2018 MSNA Employee of the Year.

View photos below from the May 14 District 196 School Board recognition 

School Board Recognition 5.14.18

You may also like

ACT test logo
District 196 students outscore state and national ACT averages
District196 logo
District 196 faces $25 million shortfall due to inadequate state funding
An elementary student reads a book in the library.
District 196 enrollment continues to increase, rapid growth projected