Eastview High School Lightning Dance Team state high kick champions

ROSEMOUNT, Minn. – For the third year in a row, the Eastview High School Lightning Dance Team won the Class AAA state championship in high kick at the state dance team tournament Feb. 16-17 at Target Center in Minneapolis. Eastview also took second place in the jazz competition.

This the 11th state title in high kick and 15th state title overall for the Eastview dance team. In the 19 years that dance competition has had section qualifying tournaments, Eastview is the only Class AAA school in Minnesota to qualify for state in both jazz and high kick every year. Eastview has also advanced to the finals in both competitions all 19 years.

Members of the state champion high kick team are Irene Boese, Nina Bouguslawski, Mya Brown, Tessa Cockerill, Amber Fleck, Karli Flippo, Maliyah Fongvongsa-Given, Emma Gannon, Taylor Hallum, Ellie Hebig, Sophia Hedlund, Jenna Hegarty, Reese Hendrickson, Jordan Heruth, Carly Huyber, Abby Kisch, Grace Kisch, Caliea Koehler, Jillian Lamkins, Maggie Larson, Tess Matalamaki, Hayley Miller, Lexi Olson, Morgan Peterson, Sabrina Pilney, Emma Pollei, Caitlynn Schmitt, Jennifer Terry, Carolyn VanMeter, Iszy Vevea and Libbie Yung.

Boguslawski and Matalamaki were named to the Class AAA All-Tournament Team in high kick and Hallum and Abby Kisch were named to the Class AAA All-Tournament Team in jazz.

Student managers are Lindsay Hesse, Ellie Johnson, Anna Malloy, Kara Scholbrock and Ashlynn Week.

The head coach is Jenny Raiche and assistant coaches are Toni Balliet, Shelby Feddema and Shannen Jilek.

You may also like

District196 logo
Nineteen students qualify for national business competitions
Janet Fimmen
Fimmen appointed interim special education director
Eastview High School girls' basketball team with state championship trophy
Eastview girls’ basketball team finishes perfect season with a state title