Cast and crew of Apple Valley High School one-act play

ROSEMOUNT, Minn. – The cast and crew of Apple Valley High School’s one-act play “Silent Sky” earned a starred-performance rating at this year’s state One-Act Play Festival held Feb. 8 at O’Shaughnessy Auditorium in St. Paul.

This was Apple Valley’s 11th appearance at the state festival and the school’s ninth starred-performance rating. Apple Valley took first place in Section 1AA to earn a spot at the state festival. Only four of the eight Class AA schools that performed at this year’s state festival earned a starred-performance rating.

The starred performance rating is the highest award given to a one-act play and, as such, is the equivalent of a state championship. One-act does not involve direct competition. Judges rate the plays according to specific criteria, including pace, blocking, costuming and projection of the play’s meaning. Each production is limited to 10 minutes of stage preparation and 35 minutes of actual performance. The judges consult after each production and then openly critique each in front of the cast, crew and audience. Starred-performance ratings are determined by private balloting of the judges.

“Silent Sky” by Lauren Gunderson is the true story of 19th Century astronomer Henrietta Levitt. The production explores a woman’s place in society during a time of immense scientific discoveries, when women’s ideas were dismissed until men claimed credit for them.

Apple Valley’s production was directed by Joshua Campbell. Members of the cast are Brynn Berg, Amanda Jackson, Daniel Koeller, Annie Nguyen and Kaitlin Devitt. The stage manager is Hannah Cybart and members of the crew are Samuel Korn, Austin Hatzenbuehler, Aron Ghirmai, Steven Schroeder, Monserrat Sosa Bustamante, Samuel Rasmussen, Braden Kowalski and Hannah Robinson.

You may also like

Jose Martinez and his Spanish for Heritage Students pose for a photo.
New Spanish class empowers District 196 heritage learners to use their voices
Participants at American Legion Post 594 renaming ceremony
American Legion Post 594 renamed to honor Eagan High graduate killed in action
Many Voices logo that says "Together" in multiple languages.
‘One District, Many Voices’ returns to highlight multiculturalism in District 196 schools