district 196 VMS choir

District 196 students selected for state honor choirs

ROSEMOUNT, Minn. – Forty-five District 196 students were selected by audition to participate in state honor choirs for grades 7-10 sponsored by the American Choral Directors’ Association of Minnesota.

Twenty-one middle school students were part of the honor choirs for grades 7 and 8, which performed Nov. 18 at St. Andrew’s Church in Mahtomedi. They are Elle Eisenberg, Libby Fischer, Delaney Hicok, Angie Stapf and Samuel Rohloff of Black Hawk Middle School; Ana Wrase, Brianna Barry, Alexis Schulke, Samuel Dobkin, Wayne Southwell and Gregory Underwood of Falcon Ridge Middle School; Jackson Henry, Bethany Langley, Hanna Laursen, Ethan Olson, Jack Skare, Melina Solorzano-Cruz, Meena Thakurdial, Leon Williams and Lucas Zynda of Scott Highlands Middle School, and Sarah DeBoard, Parker Elliott and Frida Santos Castillo of Valley Middle School of STEM.

Twenty-four high school students are part of the honor choirs for grades 9 and 10, which will perform Feb. 22 at the Minneapolis Convention Center. They are Hailie Bogenrief, Emma Dodge, Kendall Meier and Christina Monsen of Apple Valley High School; Margaret Forse, Neha Nayak, William New, Audrey Parker, Makayla Palmer, Grace Park and Mia Scott of Eagan High School; Campbell Bernstein, Ariana Brennhofer, Cade Eliason, Veeravikash Giritharan, Christopher Hahn, Casey Hubbs, Charlotte Krekeler, Hanna Olson, Abigail Reis and Felix Temmel of Eastview High School, and Guyal Buckley, Ryan Niedenthal and Amy-Marie Rodriguez of Rosemount High School.

The state honor choirs for grades 4, 5 and 6 will be selected in March and will perform May 5 at St. Andrew’s Church in Mahtomedi.


(Valley Middle School Choir photographed above)

You may also like

Eagan High students Ayush Patel and Jason Scheller won the state championship in public forum debate at last week's state debate tournament.
Two Eagan seniors are champions and 10 other District 196 students advance to elimination rounds of state debate tournament
A preschooler plays with a math toy during class.
District 196 Connections Preschool now taking applications for 2019-20
Minnesota State High School League logo
Twenty-two District 196 students qualify for state debate tournament