District196 logo

Forty-one District 196 high school students were named all-state musicians by the Minnesota Music Educators Association (MMEA) for the 2017-18 school year.

Students were selected by recorded audition in May and are scheduled to take part in camps Aug. 7-12 at Concordia College in Moorhead (bands and jazz), St. John’s University in Collegeville (choirs) and the College of St. Benedict in St. Joseph (orchestra). The groups will come back together in February 2018 to perform during MMEA’s annual Midwinter Clinic at the Minneapolis Convention Center.

The all-state musicians from District 196 are listed below by school and the all-state group for which they were selected.

Apple Valley High School students are Emily Collins, Blaise Cloutier, Cale Geere, Jarett Huard and Ryan Nechanicky, Symphonic Band; Graden Hill, Kenan Lumantas and Seth Miller, Jazz Band; Amanda Jackson and Carolyn Schwartz, Concert Band; Uzoma Ngwu, Women’s Choir, and Christopher Ockwig, Men’s Choir.

Eagan High School students are Mara Currens, Rachel Soukup and Katherine Wilmes, Women’s Choir; Thomas Edelman, Men’s Choir; Maria Coughlan, Mixed Choir, and Annika Dean and Mary Dratz, Symphonic Band.

Eastview High School students are Austin Bodin, Claire Busse, Ethan Lord and Zach Perrizo, Concert Band; Joseph Illg, Benjamin Johnson and Kirsten Rotvold, Orchestra; David Besonen and Molly Olander, Jazz Band; Anna Tahnk and Eden Tefera, Mixed Choir, and Adam Labiosa, Symphonic Band.

Rosemount High School students are Makai Fang, Vanessa Northway and Bridget Russell, Concert Band; Kajsa Hagen and Jaren Yambing, Symphonic Band; Matthew St Ores and Tanner Wenzel, Mixed Choir; Elsa Buck and Meghan Hayes, Women’s Choir, and Jose Santos, Men’s Choir.

You may also like

National Merit Scholarship logo
Fifteen district seniors named National Merit Scholarship finalists
Adriana Henderson
Adriana Henderson selected next principal of Glacier Hills Elementary
District 196 logo and tagline
Eighteen district teams qualify for state Destination ImagiNation