District196 logo

Three of the seven at-large positions on the District 196 School Board are up for election in the Nov. 7, 2017 General School Board Election. The terms of Art Coulson, Gary Huusko and Mike Roseen expire Jan. 1, 2018. The term of each open position is four years, from January 2018 to January 2022.

The two-week filing period for School Board candidates will open Tuesday, Aug. 1 at 7:30 a.m. and runs through Tuesday, Aug. 15, at 5 p.m. All candidates must file during this two-week period in order to be placed on the ballot.

The School Board is responsible for developing policy to ensure the proper care, management and control of district affairs, and supporting the district’s mission of “Educating our students to reach their full potential.”

Any person may be a candidate who:

  • is eligible to vote;
  • would be at least 21 years old upon assuming office (Jan. 1, 2018);
  • is a resident of the school district for at least 30 days before the election, and
  • is not registered as a convicted sex offender.

Affidavits of candidacy are available during office hours (7:30 a.m.–4 p.m., Monday through Friday) in the Superintendent’s Office of Independent School District 196, 3455 153rd St. W., Rosemount. Completed affidavits of candidacy must be filed at the Superintendent’s Office by 5 p.m. Aug. 15, along with a $2 filing fee or a petition with at least 500 signatures of eligible voters in place of the filing fee.

Five or more voters may also draft a candidate by filing an application on behalf of the candidate. The candidate must indicate his or her willingness to serve by signing the application. The same filing fee requirements and timeline apply.

Persons considering running for one of the three open positions may also call the Superintendent’s Office at 651-423-7844 for more information or to schedule an informational meeting.

You may also like

Cast and crew of Eagan High School one-act play, "She Kills Monsters"
Eagan stars at state One-Act Festival and Apple Valley makes 12th appearance
Minnesota State High School League One-Act festival logo
Apple Valley and Eagan seek starred ratings at state one-act festival
Apple Valley High School teachers (from left) Drew McCluskey, Jim Lynch and Chris Lee accepted the STEM Excellence Award on behalf of the school at the Future of Education Technology Conference Jan. 30 in Orlando.
Apple Valley High School wins national STEM Excellence Award