District196 logo

Students representing the journalism and video production programs at Apple Valley and Eastview high schools won eight of the 24 Crystal Pillar Awards presented at the regional Student Production Awards ceremony March 31 at the Crowne Plaza AiRE Hotel in Bloomington.

The Student Production Awards are sponsored by the Upper Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. Apple Valley and Eastview students won four Crystal Pillar Awards each. The award winners, listed by category, are as follows:

  • Newscast: EaglEye, Apple Valley High, “Newscast #151,” EaglEye crew
  • News General Assignment-Serious: Apple Valley High, “One of Ours: Jack Forrey,” Maddi Bahm, Micah Nelson and Shannon Kelly
  • News General Assignment-Light: Eastview High, “iPads become tools,” Jack Kohaut and Bailey Strasser
  • Public Affairs/Community Service: Eastview High, “Voter Turnout,” Alex Baker and Dan Lekah
  • Editor: Jack Kohaut, Eastview High
  • Talent: Matt Kolan, Apple Valley High
  • Video Essay: Eastview High, “Trainer Connects with Athletes,” Kevin Gunawan and Ben Sammon
  • Writing: Matt Kolan, Apple Valley High

Staff advisors are Cliff Dodge and Drew McCluskey at Apple Valley and Nick Fornicoia at Eastview.

You may also like

Eastview High School Lightning Dance Team state high kick champions
Eastview High dance team wins third straight state high-kick title
Cast and crew of Apple Valley High School one-act play
Apple Valley High School stars at state One-Act Play Festival
District 196 horizontal logo
State business competitions will feature 142 District 196 high school students