District196 logo

District 196 voters elected Sachin Isaacs of Burnsville to the School Board Aug. 9 in a special election held as part of the statewide primary.

Isaacs will fill the remaining term of Rob Duchscher, who was re-elected to a four-year term last November, then resigned in March after moving out of the district. The term runs through Jan. 6, 2020.

Isaacs was also a candidate in the 2015 School Board election, finishing sixth of seven in a race for four open seats, which were won by Duchscher and three other incumbents. This time, he finished first among seven candidates seeking the one vacant seat.

Isaacs received 2,171 votes or approximately 29 percent of the 7,542 total votes cast in the board election, according to unofficial results with all 61 precincts reporting. Vote totals for the other six candidates were as follows: Wendy Brekken of Inver Grove Heights, 1,476; Craig Angrimson of Apple Valley, 1,012; Michael Atherley of Rosemount, 956; John Millea of Rosemount, 668; Christopher Dahling of Rosemount, 605, and Rachel Wetzsteon of Lakeville, 576; there were 78 write-in votes. Angrimson and Atherley were also candidates in the November 2015 board election.

Official election results will be canvassed at the board’s next regular meeting on Aug. 15. Isaacs will join the board and take the oath of office at the Sept. 12 regular meeting.

Isaacs is a senior product manager of clinical assessments at NCS Pearson and has degrees in business from Winona State University and the University of St. Thomas. He and wife Alyssa have two daughters, ages 6 and 3.

Isaacs thanked supporters on his Facebook page. “You have been on this journey with me and supported me in your own way … you have made a difference. I’m also truly grateful to the incredible educators of ISD 196 (DCUE) for their faith, support and endorsement. I am sincerely honored and humbled.”

You may also like

Eagan Principal Polly Reikowski accepts an award at the school board meeting.
District 196 School Board Recognition — May 14, 2018
School photograph of Joni Anker.
Eagan High School’s Anker is national speech coach of the year
East Lake Elementary teacher Jesse Diaz is awarded the Fox 9 Teacher of the Year award.
East Lake educator Jesse Diaz named KMSP’s 2018 Teacher of the Year